25% – How is it possible that I am 1/4 of the way prepared for this madness?!?

This was a tough week for me.

Each workout felt like a HUGE effort. Even my recovery on Wednesday was a challenge. In the past, running in the heat wasn’t a big issue for me, so I have been doing most of my running (with the exception of Fridays and Long Run Saturdays) in the evening after work. This training cycle, the heat and humidity have been sucking the life out of me. Based upon how I’ve been feeling and the suggestion from a good friend and fellow runner, I am (grudgingly) going to do my best to rouse myself from bed early enough to run before work. There is a strong possibility that this will turn me into a very angry person for a few days, similar to the person I become during tax season. Wish me luck!

My long run today felt pretty great considering that it took place on a treadmill. 2:15:00 on a treadmill is a long time. The additional 30 minutes of running this week also seemed like it might be a big jump. I breezed past my time and distance from last weekend feeling great and was able to finish with a faster overall pace than the prior week. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that we don’t have a lot more Friday night/Saturday morning crazy thunderstorms. I love running outside on my trail!

My goals for next week are:
1. Keep working on nutrition – more protein
2. Get out of bed in time to do all of my running before work
3. Enjoy the process

Screen Shot 2014-06-28 at 4.49.48 PM

Leave a Reply

