Where did my muscles go?

Well, I’ve been back at the weight room for a week and a half, and now that the crazy and often painful soreness has subsided, I have just one question:  WHERE DID MY MUSCLES GO?  It looks like they are still there (mostly), but wow, was I wrong.  My first clue came when I chose what I thought would be a good warm up weight for squats.  That weight became my weight for all of the sets.  Oh well.  I’ll get it back.

It’s been fun to be back in the gym – there are so many interesting people to see.  For example, yesterday I saw a guy who I am pretty sure thought he was auditioning for the part of Bane.  Apparently he missed the part where “The Dark Knight Rises” came out two years ago.  Either that or the threat level has gone up significantly.  If that’s the case, someone clue me in.  I’ll wear a mask too.  How can this be a comfortable way to work out?

Bane

I have run in to two small problems (if you can really call them that) at the gym so far:

  1. There is a donut shop in the same shopping center as my gym.  It opens before I finish my morning workouts.  My ability to resist temptation will be tested.
  2. I took a spin class last week.  It was easy.  I guess training for a marathon can do that.  It’s all relative.  This week I’ll ramp up the resistance to see if there is any way to get my heart-rate up.  I want to feel the burn!

My running has been so-so.  My legs are still feeling heavy, but I’ve not given them any real break.  My speed isn’t miraculously coming back like I had hoped it might, but I’ll keep working at it.  I have struggled with some of my half-marathon pace miles and speed workouts.  I have 4 1/2 weeks.  Will it be enough?

wpid-20141005_190545.jpg

I do feel I have been quite successful with my nutrition.  I’ve been within my allotted calorie range every day and have hit my macros each day (except my cheat meal day but that was expected).  I went 8 days before my first cheat meal (pizza and a “white wedding” cupcake – cue Billy Idol).  I am thinking that I will be a bit more conservative next time – my stomach did not appreciate all the junk food.  Consistency will be the key!

Happy trails, sidewalk, tracks or treadmills!  It’ll be hills for me tonight, followed by push ups, a TRX pull up workout and abs.

wpid-20141006_190954.jpg

6 thoughts on “Where did my muscles go?

    • I’d love to! I love a hard spin class. I am determined to make the next one more difficult. I’ll just keep upping the resistance until I find the sweet spot. I did notice that I was the only one still smiling at then end. Maybe my quads are now immune to pain. Who knows?

  1. Hey girl, you look gorgeous!! Love the pic!! So beautiful!! Also, hehe, isn’t it funny some of the stuff you see at the gym. Totally hilarious whatcha said!! 😉 😉 Since my half Sunday, I’ve been hitting the weights harder than usual and eeek, I’m sooo sore!! You’re working so hard!! You rock!! XOXO!

    • Thank you! Right now every workout is hard but so worth it. I am sure our hard work in the weight room will pay off with super-speed down the road. Thanks for the encouragement. Comments like yours help keep me going. 🙂

  2. FLRunnerBoy says:

    Ohhhh the Bane mask ha-ha lol!! The only reason for one of those contraptions is if your on the treadmill doing altitude training. I know they make altitude training masks that look somewhat like a Bane mask. Annnnnd yes you definitely do find the most interesting characters at the gym and I do mean characters ha! I hope those muscles return soon for you chica! Spin class sweeeeeet!!! No worries your running will return to form soon I know it. 4 1/2 weeks should be plenty of time for you. You seem to be a total boss lady and she-ro so you should be all good!!! A doughnut shop in the same area as the gym … ohhhhhh the inhumanity, that ain’t right lol. Nice selfie by the way!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

