We’ll call today’s workout…Voldemort

Have you ever had one of those workouts you never wanted to do again, but even while you were thinking that you were planning the next time you’d try it?

Well, that was my workout today.  Also, I decided I am going to start naming awful workouts after fictional villains.  We’ll see how long I stick to that (probably just today).

I planned for a very ambitious 10 x 400m (faster than 5k pace) with 20 seconds rest between runs.  I made it through 4 before I needed extra rest.  After 5, everything hurt!  I decided that was good for the 400s but thought I needed to add something else since that workout was too short (a little over 2 miles of running with my warmup).  Tuesdays are normally speed and hills.  I had done the speed, so I added some hills.  I ran 5 x ~30 second hill sprints to add another layer to the pain and lactic acid in my muscles.  I can happily say my last trip up the hill was the fastest and it felt great, but it was a challenge.

Here’s how it broke down:

400s

  1. 1:37
  2. 1:36
  3. 1:38
  4. 1:39
  5. 1:33

Hills (same distance each time)

  1. 34 seconds – 6:45 pace
  2. 32 seconds – 6:28 pace
  3. 29 seconds – 5:44 pace
  4. 28 seconds – 5:28 pace
  5. 27 seconds – 5:20 pace

I had some great music today during my runs capped off by this amazing song.  If this doesn’t make you want to run fast, I don’t know what will!  I also listened to a little Nelly (Grillz) & some Queen today.  It was a good day.

4 thoughts on “We’ll call today’s workout…Voldemort

  1. Glad to hear you finished your workout strong! It’s definitely hard to hit every single workout and I’ve had lots of yucky workouts myself. There have definitely been some workouts that I never ever wanna do again!! Great job on pushing through!! Yaay!! xoxo

    • I have long had a love/hate relationship with 400 repeats. I was a heptathlete, hurdler and jumper in college, so I have run a lot of them in my life. The running was actually okay. It was the incredibly abbreviated rest that was so brutal. I may extend it to 30 seconds next time (or until I can make it through 10) and then gradually shorten it back to 20 for each.

      • Very cool you were a hurdler and jumper in college and it sounds like you have a great plan going!! I know you can do the 20, though!! You’re strong!! xoxo

  2. FLRunnerBoy says:

    Hmmmm maybe I should start naming my workouts too lol 😉 ha! Those were some pretty nice paces on the hills chica!!! Way to improvise 🙂

Leave a Reply

