Since I last posted…

The bad/so-so stuff:

  • I ran a disappointing tempo run (10/23).  I only made it through 5 miles (I was planning to do 8).
  • I visited family in Georgia and did a long run on the world’s most ridiculous treadmill (12 miles with it shutting off approximately every 2 miles – I have no idea what my final overall pace was).
  • I ran 3 miles on a different ridiculous treadmill that is probably older than I am.

The good stuff:

  • I had a great progressive run on Tuesday that went something like this: 8:44, 8:22, 8:13, 8:01, 7:52, 7:52, 7:38, 6:56 (1/2 mile at the last pace) – 7.47 miles total
  • I added 20 pounds to my squats this week (10 to my cleans and 2 reps per set to my deadlifts) and felt GOOD!  Lots of room for increases on my three big lifts!
  • Today, I ran 8 x .5 repeats (90 seconds rest) with the following paces: 7:06, 7:03, 6:59, 7:06, 7:05, 6:54, 6:50, 7:01.  The total workout was just over 6 miles.  It’s a killer, but it feels great to have it done.

Now, the million (or 60 since that’s how much my race fee will be) dollar question:  what should I do for my last long run on Saturday?  The race is on the 9th.  Tapering has never been my friend.  My ideas so far are a 10 mile pace run (a huge confidence booster if I can do it, but killer if I can’t) or a 13 mile run with several miles at pace at the end.

Any and all comments and suggestions would be appreciated!

I go next week to find out if all my diligent healthy eating is having a positive effect on my body composition.  Fingers crossed that it is working.  I am going to be VERY annoyed if it isn’t (and likely eat an entire batch of cookie dough).

3 thoughts on “Since I last posted…

  1. FLRunnerBoy says:

    Forget the bad chica! You absolutely crushed all those other workouts for sure! Since you are doing a half marathon I would go for the 10 mile workout for your last long run. And you were in Georgia?!?!?? What part? My best friend lives up there. I was wondering where you vanished to. I was really missing your posts and updates 🙂 Annnnnd maybe you should sell that old geriatric treadmill to a museum and make some money $$$ for all the cruel and unusual punishment it gave you haha lol 😉

    • Oh – it wasn’t my treadmill thankfully (I have a Sole F85 at home – it’s a good one). It was in an apartment gym. It got the job done, but I would say it is on it’s last legs. I was in the Atlanta area for a long weekend. It was lovely. I am leaning toward the 10 mile run myself. Thanks for the input!!! I can’t wait to hear about your race this weekend.

      • FLRunnerBoy says:

        My friend lives just outside of Atlanta in Hiram 🙂 yes go with the 10 definitely the 10 you’ll crush it!!! I know it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

