Recovery is a state of mind

Sometimes I need a recovery run more for my mental state than for my legs.  Today was one of those days.  I’ve been struggling with my runs lately.  My pace isn’t where I’d like it to be, and it hasn’t been feeling easy. None of it has been awful, just pretty mediocre.  I’d accept slower times if it felt good, but even that hasn’t been the case.  I have been doubting whether or not I should keep running right now or just focus in the weight room.  I really needed a win.

Here are my last 4 workouts:

Tuesday – Hills 4.06 miles (average pace 8:55,  but it felt like I was running through molasses – way too much effort for how slow it was overall)

Thursday – Treadmill Tempo Run 6.18 miles (average pace 8:54, I felt okay about this but wish I had spend more time at faster speeds, also when I do these on the ‘mill, I tend to start at a much slower pace than I would outdoors)

Saturday – 10 miles (average pace 9:15 – I was hoping for 8:30 – 8:45, neither good, nor bad)

Today – 5 miles, 39:52 (back under 8 minutes, finally!!!!)

I am hoping that the mental high that I am feeling right now will stay with me.  That pace still isn’t quite back where I’d like it, but I feel like I am headed in the right direction.  This one was much more important for my mind than my legs, that’s for sure!  I couldn’t have asked for a prettier day to run it either.  I had a beautiful trail and a nice shower while I was running around a park here.  It was a perfect afternoon for a run.

wpid-20141012_170301_1.jpg

 

4 thoughts on “Recovery is a state of mind

  1. Hey!! Great runs!! I know what you mean about feeling blah sometimes while running!! It can be a frustrating feeling! Hang in there!! You’ll feel better soon I’m sure!! xoxoxo

  2. FLRunnerBoy says:

    Hey chica hang in there! The runs will improve. You been dealing with not nice weather like me right? Cooler temps when they arrive should help you.

    • Thanks! We have had some nice cool days here lately. It has been lovely. I think it was 41 when I finished my ten miles on Saturday. How was your race? I am waiting for the recap. 🙂

      • FLRunnerBoy says:

        It was a hot, humid, and hilly day. No PR but I was still very pleased with my effort because it’s positive steps towards getting back to where I was.

Leave a comment